NOSH Online Magazine Entry #6

Over the last few weeks the majority of time we’re spending in the Monday sessions is devoted to how we feel the website looks. We attempted a complete makeover but couldn’t find anything that we all agreed on and as a result just reverted to our original template.

A lot more effort is now going into the photos that we use. As a result the homepage does look a lot smarter and the food images look a lot more appealing. We’ve also made a conscious effort to vary the articles available on the front page, so that instead of having five recipes up, we now have a mix of features, reviews, news and recipes to get people interested and sticking around.

It also feels like we’re coming in every week with work that we’re ready to upload, which is helping to keep the website current.

I’ve managed to get very positive feedback on three of my four submission pieces (review, news story, first feature) and my Quorn one has now been uploaded to the website too. Overall I’m happy with my final portfolio and I think it shows good research and writing skills.

I’ve gone through each of the pages (features, reviews, recipes etc.) and added photos where I can, and tried to get it looking a bit more interesting. All the images are the same size and I’ve made sure the layout of all the writing – the title, the ‘words:’ and the little preview of the article – matches in each category to keep continuity in tact. I feel like it looks a whole lot better now as a ‘professional’ website.

Overall this project has been a fun one and it’ll be sad to leave NOSH behind and move on to next year.

Leave a comment